Who's Who in the Iraq Study Group

The ten members of the Iraq Study Group, briefly identified by political pedigree below, represent a broad and high-level cross-section of the political Establishment in the United States. It is from that standpoint that their willingness to make recommendations, in the face of Presidential hostility, must be judged.

James A. Baker III: Co-chair Baker has served as a top Republican Party official, and representative of several Republican Administrations, from 1976 on. He was Secretary of State and White House Chief of Staff under President George H.W. Bush; Secretary of the Treasury and White House Chief of Staff under President Ronald Reagan; and Under Secretary of Commerce to President Gerald Ford. He has been a member of numerous other advisory commissions as well.

Lee H. Hamilton: Co-chair Hamilton is best known as a Democratic Congressman from the state of Indiana, which position he held for 34 years. He took a special role in Congress on matters of foreign affairs, including holding the chairmanship of the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence and the Select Committee To Investigate Covert Arms Transactions With Iran. Although he left government in 1999, he remains on the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board.

Lawrence S. Eagleburger: Eagleburger has been a career foreign service officer since 1957. He has worked closely with former National Security Advisor and Secretary of State Henry Kissinger over the years, and served as both Deputy Secretary of State and Secretary of State in the George H.W. Bush Administration. He joined the Iraq Study Group after Robert Gates resigned to become Secretary of Defense.

Vernon E. Jordan, Jr.: Currently a Senior Managing Director of Lazard Frères, Jordan has a long history as an official of the U.S. civil rights movement. In 1992, he served as the chairman of President Bill Clinton's Presidential Transition Team.

Edwin Meese III: Meese began his rise to political prominence as an executive assistant and chief of staff to California Gov. Ronald Reagan in 1969. He served as coun-

sellor to the President under the first Reagan Presidential Administration, and as the Attorney General of the United States in the second Reagan Administration. He currently holds positions at the Heritage Foundation, and the Hoover Institution, both prominent conservative think-tanks.

Sandra Day O'Connor: O'Connor was appointed by President Ronald Reagan as the first female Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court in 1981, which position she held until her retirement from that body in 2005. She serves on many honorary commissions, especially in relation to legal matters.

Leon E. Panetta: Panetta began his public career under the Administration of President Lyndon B. Johnson. He served as a Democratic Congressman from California, from 1977 to 1993, where he played a prominent role in matters of budget and social services. From 1993 to 1997, he served in the Clinton Administration, both as Director of the Office of Management and Budget and as Chief of Staff to the President. He currently directs a public policy think-tank as part of the California University system.

William J. Perry: Perry, who served in the Armed Forces in the immediate post-World War II period, has had a prominent political career in the area of national defense. He was Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering for President Jimmy Carter and Secretary of Defense for President Clinton. He currently teaches at Stanford University.

Charles S. Robb: Robb began his political career in 1978 as the Democratic Lieutenant Governor of Virginia. Later he became Governor of Virginia, and was a Democratic U.S. Senator from Virginia, until 2001. Since leaving the Senate, he has been on a number of commissions and boards, including the President's Commission on Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction, and the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board.

Alan K. Simpson: Simpson served as a Republican U.S. Senator from Wyoming from 1979 to 1997. During that period he was elected Assistant Majority Leader of the Senate, which position he held for ten years. Since his retirement from the Senate, he has served on numerous corporate boards.

Robert M. Gates: Up until his nomination to become U.S. Secretary of Defense to replace Donald Rumsfeld, Gates was a member of the Iraq Study Group. Since 1969, his career has been within the intelligence community, first as a member of the National Security Council staff, and then within the CIA leadership under President Ronald Reagan. He was director of the CIA under President George H.W. Bush.

EIR December 15, 2006 Strategic Overview 9