International representatives debate how to bring about a lasting peace

The Schiller Institute's conference, "Toward a Durable Peace in Europe," was attended by people from at least 18 countries, including Russia, Ukraine, Armenia, Germany, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Bosnia, Croatia, Kosova, Iran, Iraq, Poland, Italy, Latvia, France, Colombia, and the United States. The embassies of Nigeria, China, Greece, and Bulgaria were also represented. The following is a list of speakers and people who sent written statements and greetings to the conference.

Armenia

Haik Babookhanian, member of the Yerevan City Council

Hrant Khachatrian, member of the national parliament

Bosnia-Hercegovina

Prof. Lamija Tanović, University of Sarajevo

Bulgaria

Ivan Stanchev, coordinator, council of ministers of Bulgaria; general secretary of the "Union of the Repressed After Sept. 9, 1944"

Colombia

Jorge Carrillo, former labor minister

Croatia

Slavica Bilic, former president of Mothers for Peace organization, Zagreb

Srecko Jurdana, journalist, expert in military problems, writer for two leading Croatian newspapers, *Vecernij List* and *Slobodna Dalmacija*

Prof. Dr. Zvonimir Separovic, former foreign minister, Republic of Croatia; founding member and former president of World Society of Victimology

France

Jacques Cheminade, chairman, Schiller Institute in France

André Copin, assistant director of the nuclear power plant in Paluel, sent a message of greetings

Germany

Franz Baldauf, factory councillor, Munich, sent a message of greetings

Anno Hellenbroich, Schiller Institute

Brig. Gen. Heinz Karst (ret.), sent a written statement Michael Liebig, editor, EIR

Walter Merz, entrepreneur, activist on behalf of medium-sized industry

Gen. Paul-Albert Scherer (ret.), former head of Ger-



Rosemarie Love



Dr. Leonid Fituni



Dr. Tibor Kovats



Prof. Alexander Legatowicz

EIR June 25, 1993

man military intelligence service (MAD)

Dr. Hans Peter Seidl, board member of Rhein-Main-Donau AG, sent a written statement

Jonathan Tennenbaum, director, Fusion Energy Forum

Helga Zepp-LaRouche, founder, Schiller Institute

Hungary

Janos Denes, member of parliament

Dr. Tibor Kovats, member of the board of the Association of Former Political Prisoners (POFOSZ); spokesman of the interparliamentary committee "New Europe—Peace Through Development"

Istvan Morvay, titular secretary of state, office of refugee and immigration affairs, Ministry of the Interior

Italy

Gerardo Bianco, chairman of the Christian Democratic Group of the Italian Chamber of Deputies, Rome; sent a message of greetings

Sen. Flaminio Piccoli, former general secretary of the Christian Democracy in Italy and of the Christian Democratic International; sent a message of greetings

Kosova

Dr. Bujar Bukoshi, prime minister; submitted a written statement to the conference on the situation in his country

Edita Tahiri, Democratic League of Kosova; submitted a written statement to the conference

Poland

Prof. Alexander Legatowicz, adviser to trade union Solidarnosc, former member of parliament

Russia

Dr. Leonid Fituni, director, Russian Academy of Sciences Center for Strategic and Global Studies

Dr. Yuri S. Khromov, head of Department of International Economy of Russia's Institute for Strategic Studies

Dr. Vasili I. Krivokhizha, deputy director, Russia's Institute for Strategic Studies

Prof. Taras Muranivsky, rector of the Ukrainian University in Moscow

Ukraine

Prof. Arnold N. Shlepakov, president, Ukrainian U.N. Association, member of the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences and European Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Humanities

Vasili F. Stolyarov, director, National Economy Research Institute, Ministry of Economics

United States

Lawrence Freeman, Schiller Institute

Lyndon H. LaRouche, physical economist, former presidential candidate, political prisoner; his speech to the conference was read by Muriel Mirak-Weissbach

Rosemarie Love, former Cook County, Illinois commissioner

Ralph W. Yarborough, former U.S. senator, Texas; sent a written statement to the conference on the war in Bosnia

Other

Melvin Fagen, former director of the U.N. Economic Commission for Europe, sent a written statement to the conference on "Major Defects of 'Shock Therapy' Policies Applied in the Transitional Economies"



Jorge Carrillo



Helga Zepp-LaRouche



Slavica Bilic



Gen. Paul-Albert Scherer (ret.)